Pawel Althamer & Lou Cantor, CLOUDS / 2013

The work is a large inflatable sculpture in which visitors will be able to enter. The sculpture was created with the kind support of Hug & von Below and will be presented for the first time in January 2013, during artgenève. The work of Warsaw-based artist Pawel Althamer frequently focuses on problems of participation and group relations; he has recently exhibited at the Ludwig Museum in Köln, MUSEION in Bolzano, the Guggenheim Berlin, and at the Wiener Secession in Vienna. In 2010 he won the Kunstpreis Aachen.

Lou Cantor is a Berlin-based collective, working in diverse media, whose projects frequently take intersubjectivity as their theme. Previous exhibitions of the collective include the 7th Berlin Biennale, New National Art at the Warsaw MoMA, and the Villa Tokyo.

The works of both Cantor and Althamer are united by an interest in intersubjectivity and their discrete practices grounded in problems and modes of participation. Figures enter, dance, and jump within an immense sculptural Cloud. The premise is simple.

Pawel Althamer & Lou Cantor, CLOUDS / 2013

L’œuvre est une structure monumentale gonflable dans laquelle les spectateurs peuvent pénétrer. Cette sculpture a été créée avec le soutien de Hug & von Below, présentée pour la première fois en janvier 2013 durant artgenève. Le travail de l’artiste Pawel Althamer, basé à Varsovie, se concentre sur les problèmes de la participation et des relations de groupes. Il a récemment exposé au Ludwig Museum de Cologne, au MUSEION de Bolzano, au Guggenheim Berlin et à la Wiener Secession de Vienne. En 2010, il remporte le Kunstpreis Aachen.

Lou Cantor est un collectif d’artiste basé à Berlin qui explore la thématique de l’intersubjectivité par le biais de différents médias. Le collectif a exposé durant la 7e Biennale de Berlin, au New National Art du Warsaw MoMA, et à la Villa Tokyo.

Les travaux de Cantor et d’Althamer se rejoignent dans l’intérêt porté à l’intersubjectivité et dans les problèmes liés aux modes de participaion. Pénétration, danse et saut à l’intérieur de la sculpture monumentale Clouds : le postulat est simple.