Ahmet Ögüt, Sign Spinners / 2015
 

Every year, internationally renowned artists are invited to present an artwork especially conceived for the salon. Past editions have already received several performances, sculptures or concerts. Tino Sehgal, who was part of the Documenta 13, Pawel Althamer, whose works were exhibited in the New Museum in New York, or Henrik Hakansson are three major artists, who have taken part to artgenève, as well as others.

In 2015, the foundation’s guest is Ahmet Ögüt, the last resident of the Turkish pavilion during the Venice Biennale. For artgenève, the conceptual artist has addressed a common practice in the United States. Sign spinners are people hired by important companies for advertising purposes. A roadside and a sign to spin, it is both simple and striking.

Ahmet Ögüt's project consisted in hiring three performers to work in shifts. Spinning monitors were displaying his film Sign Spinners. As part of the project, performers, curator and artist have been paid 50€ per hour, that is as much as the art fair’s director. Additionally, the three performers had equal access to the director's amenities (including lunch, VIP area access, car service, etc.) during the art fair. Every day, the director's expenses has been counted and added to the performers’ per diem. The project tends to expose and revaluate the hierarchies of pay and repute within cultural production.

Ahmet Ögüt, Sign Spinners / 2015
 

Chaque année, des artistes de renommée internationale sont invités à proposer une œuvre spécialement conçue pour l’événement. Les éditions précédentes ont déjà accueilli de nombreuses interventions. Tino Sehgal, présent lors de la Documenta 13, Pawel Althamer, exposé au New Museum de New York ou encore Henrik Hakansson sont quelques-uns des artistes présentés lors des dernières éditions d’artgenève.

En 2015, la fondation accueillait Ahmet Ögüt, dernier occupant du pavillon turc de la Biennale de Venise. L’artiste conceptuel a proposé d’aborder une pratique en vigueur dans le sud des Etats-Unis. Les sign spinners sont des personnes engagées par de grandes firmes dans le but d’en faire la promotion. Un bord de route, une pancarte promotionnelle, le principe est simple.

Pour son projet, Ahmet Ögüt a engagé trois performeurs qui se sont relayés. Il s'est agi pour eux de faire tourner des écrans diffusant le film de l'artiste, Sign Spinners. Dans le cadre du projet, le salaire des performeurs, du curateur et de l'artiste était identique à celui du directeur du salon, à savoir 50€ par heure. En plus de cela, les trois performeurs ont joui des mêmes privilèges que le directeur (repas, accès VIP, services de transports, etc.) pendant l'entière durée du salon. Pour finir, les dépenses quotidiennes du directeur ont été calculées et ajoutées au per diem des performeurs. L'oeuvre tendait ainsi à mettre en lumière et à réévaluer les hiérarchies salariales et sociales au sein du monde de la culture.